The Education of Ivy Edwards

Hannah Tovey

£8.99

Adult life is hard. Send help. Ivy Edwards is 31 years old, funny, shameless, and a bit of a romantic. She’s also currently trying not to cry in the office toilet. Partly because she’s just run out of money for fags. A bit because her mum continues to annoy her. Definitely not because she’s just been dumped by her fiancé. With her London life in shambles and her family miles away in the Welsh valleys, Ivy doesn’t actually feel like she belongs anywhere. At least, she has her friends – and a bottle of vodka. Embarking on a journey of singlehood, Ivy is about to discover that sometimes, having your life fall apart can be surprisingly fun. Sometimes, heartbreak can be the best education.

In stock

SKU: 9780349424705 Category: Tag:

Description

‘Funny, very frank, filthy . . . will delight fans of Fleabag’ Yorkshire Times

‘An absolute joyDaisy Buchanan, author of Insatiable

Raw, unapologetic and pretty damn relatable’ Heat

‘Gritty, surprising, honest’ Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop

*A No. 1 Bestseller in Dark Humorous Comedy on Kindle*

_____________________

Adult life is hard. Send help.

Ivy Edwards is thirty-one years old, funny, shameless, and a bit of a romantic.

She’s also currently trying not to cry in the office toilet.

Partly because she’s just run out of money for fags. A bit because her mum continues to annoy her. Definitely not because she’s just been dumped by her fiancé.

With her London life in shambles and her family miles away in the Welsh valleys, Ivy doesn’t actually feel like she belongs anywhere.

At least, she has her friends – and a bottle of vodka.

Embarking on a journey of singlehood, Ivy is about to discover that sometimes, having your life fall apart can be surprisingly fun.

_____________________

Get ready for Ivy…

The Education of Ivy Edwards is perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton’s Everything I Know About Love, Holly Bourne’s How Do You Like Me Now?, Emer McLysaght’s Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling, and Phoebe Waller-Bridge’s Fleabag.

Bloody brilliant. Grab a copy and some vodka’ Melanie Blake, author of The Thunder Girls

‘Gritty, surprising, redemptive’ Laura Jane Willams

‘Smart, bittersweet and extremely funny . . . so perceptive and REALDaisy Buchanan, author of How to Be a Grown Up

‘This book will make you laugh out loud one minute and have you reaching for the tissues the next’ Heat

‘Tovey hits that sweet spot of sharp dialogue and authentic characters that are well-rounded, real, and messyAbigail Mann, author of The Lonely Fajita

‘Like that trusted friend who’ll give you a ‘cwtch‘ (Welsh hug), check your mascara and then take you to get hammered on vodka martinis. . . warm, witty and occasionally filthy . . . and full of heart’ Nicola Mostyn, author of The Gods of Love

Reminiscent of Laura and Tyler’s escapades in Emma Jane Unsworth’s Animals . . . gets into the nitty gritty of heartbreakNetgalley reviewer

Feel good and hilarious’ Netgalley reviewer

’31-year-old Ivy’s life is derailed dramatically when her fiancé dumps her, with no warning, just 5 minutes after they’ve had sex. A feel good and hilarious look at breaking up, self-indulgence and self-discovery’ Girl Reads Books

I could really empathise with . . . the struggles of not belonging and trying to survive London when life has not gone to plan’ Netgalley reviewer

The Education of Ivy Edwards is a whirlwind of a read and proved to be a great distraction from the current climate. . . .Ivy’s mum might be my favourite character, she’s bonkers and I loved her!’ Eleanor Reads Books

A very enjoyable read’ Netgalley reviewer

‘Rich in dialogue . . . it’s a novel about realising that sometimes your greatest enemy is yourself Netgalley reviewer

Additional information

Weight0.23 kg
Dimensions19.6 × 12.6 × 2.8 cm
Author

Publisher

Cover

Paperback

Ordering Information

Orders

Orders placed through this site will typically be fulfilled from our shop’s inventory within 48 hours. Occasionally an item may be out of stock, in which case it may be fulfilled by our supplier and dispatched directly to you, or to the shop if Collect in Person was selected during checkout. We will inform you of any delays affecting your order as quickly as possible.

Backorders

Items marked AVAILABLE TO ORDER are available on backorder and typically arrive within a couple of days, but can occasionally take longer to arrive. In the event that an item you have ordered is unexpectedly delayed for 7 days or more, we will contact you by email with a delivery estimate.

If you’d like to confirm an item’s availability or check on the status of an order, please email us.

Pre-Orders

Any forthcoming titles available to pre-order are clearly marked with a red PRE-ORDER label, and the anticipated publication date. Typically, pre-ordered items will be available on or occasionally very shortly after the publication date, and in the event that we do anticipate a delay we will endeavour to keep you updated on the status of your pre-order.

Publication dates are subject to change (although this is an extremely uncommon occurrence overall). If you have a question about the status of a pre-order, please email us.

Delivery Costs

UK postage costs (per order):

Royal Mail First Class – £2.95
Royal Mail Second Class – £1.95

Orders with a total greater than £50 will automatically qualify for free delivery (excluding subscriptions).

If you do not wish to have your order delivered, please select Collect In Person during checkout.

Please note that orders placed via our site can be delivered within the UK only. For international delivery, please email us stating the items you wish to order and your delivery address, and we’ll let you know your options for shipping.

Payments

Orders placed via our website can be paid using any of the following methods:

  • Credit or debit card
  • Google Pay
  • Apple Pay
  • National Book Tokens

Our credit and debit card payments are securely processed by Stripe, and your full card information is neither stored by our site or accessible to our team. If you select to save your credit or debit card information during checkout to use again for future orders, your card information is encrypted and stored only by Stripe, who have been certified as a Level 1 PCI Service Provider (the highest level of security certification available for online payment services). Read more about Stripe and security here.

If ordering from a device or browser that supports Google Pay or Apple Pay, you will be automatically shown the corresponding payment button on product pages, the cart page, and the checkout page. Please note that the personal and payment information shown by Google Pay and Apple Pay is stored only by your payment account, and is neither stored by our site or accessible to our team.

Payments made using National Book Tokens are processed by National Book Tokens Ltd, and you can read their Terms and Conditions here.

If you encounter any issues with payments when ordering, or have any questions about the available methods of payment, please don’t hesitate to email us.

Gift Wrapping

Select the Gift Wrapping option on the Cart or Checkout pages to have your order wrapped for a flat fee of £2.20. Orders placed including the gift wrapping option will be wrapped using tissue paper and sealed with a Pages of Hackney sticker. A gift message can be included during this process, which will be written on a Pages of Hackney card and included with your order (if you’d prefer we use a greeting card, please add one to your order and mention this in the order notes field).

Unless requested, gift wrapping includes all items in an order. If you have different wrapping requirements for individual items, please either place multiple orders or let us know your requirements in the order notes field during checkout.